Creative Idea For Prayer…

I’ve recently heard of an incredible idea concerning prayer that I really want to share with you, and encourage you to begin.  Dean Cirelli, one of my closest friends and strong supporters of our collegiate ministry, has given his life to loving, mentoring, and caring for students.  He shares his wisdom about this great prayer idea.

With the largest majority of us on Facebook, each of us has an abundance of friends on Facebook.  Some, more than others.  The catch is not how many friends we have, but that we pray for the ones we do have.  For example, if we take our Facebook Friends List and breaks it down by the alphabet, we could prayer through our friend list once each month!  If we pray for all of our friends listed under ‘A’, on the 1st day of the month, and our friends listed under ‘B’ on the 2nd day of the month…you get the picture!  So simple!

What kind of impact could we have if we really got serious and committed to pray for our friends on a daily basis?  I can imagine going through my Facebook Friend List, looking at my friends profile pics and praying for them on a more personal level.  I mean, we call them our friends, right?  Then let’s pray for them!

I’m going to commit to doing this each month.  Please join me!  Let’s get serious about impacting our campus for Christ!

 

2 thoughts on “Creative Idea For Prayer…

  1. that’s a pretty ambitious model right there! i have 430+ friends (while i know folks with many more, even into the thousands, that’s a lot for me! i think when i was on myspace i had about 20). anyway, i do 5 friends per day (and i’m woefully behind right now!), which means i pray through the list a little over 4 times a year. for me, it means that i can pray more meaningful prayers if i limit myself to 5 a day, but that’s just me… i have a hard time concentrating, so if i go more than 5, i get to drifting 🙂

    the whole idea for me sprang from seeing so many ppl posting statuses about how they were going to start deleting ppl from their friend list because of some perceived annoyance or injustice done to them by the person being deleted, or just because they had “too many” friends. to me, it’s better to pray for folks than just remove them from you life. if they have issues that annoy or other wise bother you, then they need prayer all the more! and if you have more than you can keep up with, youwon’t be very aware of them anyway, but at least if you keep them on your list, you’ll pray for them at least a couple of times a year! keeping your FB “friends” is just a win win!

Leave a comment